Sara-Jayne Clover

Following a nomination process that began back in January, today we can officially announce the five individuals who have been selected by the IP Hall of Fame Academy as this year’s inductees into the IP Hall of Fame. They are:

Miles Alexander:  Leading US trademark lawyer and partner at Kilpatrick Townsend. During a career that has spanned more than 50 years, he has helped to shape the trademark landscape by, among other things, his participation in the Trademark Review Commission which drafted the landmark 1989 Lanham Act revisions.

Stephen Ladas:  Author and name partner in US IP firm Ladas and Parry LLP. He was a key player in the 1958 revisions to the Paris Convention, and authored seminal texts including his three volume treatise “Patents, Trademarks and Related Rights”. The Ladas Memorial Award for legal writing was established by the International Trademark Association in his memory.

Peter Meier-Beck:   Presiding Judge of the German Federal Court of Justice’s patent senate and a key figure in the European patent system. He has done much to promote harmonisation of patent laws across Europe and throughout the wider world.

Peter Dirk Siemsen:   Leading Brazilian lawyer and partner at Dannemann, Siemsen. During a career that has spanned more than 60 years, he has been highly influential in shaping Brazil’s IP landscape and was founder and president of honour of the Brazilian Intellectual Property Association.

Herbert Wamsley:   Executive Director of the Intellectual Property Owners Association. An influential lobbyist and campaigner for increased public awareness of the economic importance of IP rights, he is a long-time advocate for the interests of IP owners both in the US and internationally.

Earlier this year members of the global IP community were invited to nominate individuals who they felt had “made an outstanding contribution to the development of intellectual property law and practice” and to supply supporting paragraphs giving their reasons. All valid nominations were sent to the IP Hall of Fame Academy members, each of whom had up to five votes. The five individuals receiving the most votes were inducted.

Established in 2006, the IP Hall of Fame seeks to identify and honour those who have helped to establish intellectual property as one of the key business assets of the 21st century. The aim is not only to acknowledge the vital role played by these innovators in fostering today's vibrant IP environment and ensuring its continued health, but also to show how central IP is to the global economy and to the well-being of people across the world. The full list of previous inductees can be found here.

Responding to the news, this year’s inductees - and their representatives - had the following to say:

We are most gratified by the induction of Dr Ladas into the IP Hall of Fame for the year 2013.

Having just concluded the 100th anniversary of the founding of the firm that bears his name, the timing of Dr Ladas’s induction is most fitting.

Dr Ladas was one of the world’s leading authorities in the field of “industrial property” as it was known during his time. He was an iconic figure whose name was synonymous with scholarship and insight into the complex issues of the day. He was a true visionary who foresaw the emergence of the globalization and harmonization of patent, trademark, and copyright laws in the years after World War II. His opinions were much sought after by his colleagues throughout the world and, of course, by his valued clients.

He was a prolific author and commentator whose works have stood the test of time.

Above all, he was a gentleman, loved and respected by all who worked with him."Ladas and Parry LLP

I am honoured and humbled to be in such distinguished company. The law is a great and honourable profession for those who, like my fellow nominees, make it so.” Miles Alexander

I feel very honoured to be selected to join the 53 past inductees and the others selected this year.  They include many of the world’s leading experts on intellectual property from industry, law, government, and academia.”  Herbert Wamsley

I am obviously delighted and honoured to be nominated to the IP Hall of Fame. The list of members is undoubtedly impressive and it is for me of special significance to be part of such a select group.”  Peter Dirk Siemsen

This year’s inductees will be honoured at a gala dinner being held in Boston this June during the IP Business Congress.